A Life Story in 5 Haikus.

One (+ 2000 + 4)
Charlotte, aged thirteen,
Wore lots of black. Wrote poems
On a window ledge.

Two (Thousand 7)
The boy who stole the
Moon, made the Sun seem dim. He
Didn’t love me back.

Three (months Before)
Wind, sand, surf, skim boards:
Summer lover turned anchor,
My sunken treasure.

Four (years ago)
I carried the sand
in my shoes, from when we danced
Continents away.

Five (p.m, Pacific Time)
Charlotte: twenty four
Counts syllables to write a
hundred naked words.

(And a bonus haiku cause I’m in the groove…)

I just now realized
How trying to write haikus
Could take a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

