Post-Summer Blues & Pre-Christmas Cheers

I love fall.

I love the changing colours of leaves: burning reds and garish yellows, pumpkin oranges and earthy greens. I love the stinging of cool wind against warm cheeks, the transitional sweater weather that brings about boots and scarves and hot chocolate. Creamy, warm pies and comfortable casseroles complimented by a glass of intense shiraz or sensuous cabernet sauvignon… I love fall, almost as much as I love summer.

Summer with its fresh sauvignon blanc and sangrias. Summer with coconut mojitos and cooling basil-cucumber gin slings.

If you can’t tell by now, I’m a 20-something alcoholic (just kidding… now, laugh!) but this season of cheer, brings with it more than just Starbucks Pumpkin Spice latte or Egg nog… Because this year, I’ve discovered the magic that is the New Orleans Brandy Milk Punch, or as I like to call it, “Cheater’s Christmas: The Lazy Man’s Egg Nog”.

If you can’t guess what it is, you really should make up a batch of this to understand what I’m trying to say, and if you guessed what I was going for, make yourself a batch, cause congratulations hun, you deserve it!

There are tonnes of recipes out in the world wide webdom, but like I said, mine’s the Lazy Man’s version, and so here it is:

I took this picture off Pinterest, it’s linked to http://www.alwaysorderdessert.com. Go check her blog out for amazing recipes! Her version of the New Orleans Brandy Milk Punch is also ridiculously simple, but I don’t really like adding sugar into most stuff… and by that I mean sugar that I can see. Hey, out of sight, out of mind, right? 😛

INGREDIENTS:
1/2 glass of Milk (2% or more works best… if you live in Asia, just buy normal milk as most milk in Asia are fuller)
1/4 glass of Whipping Cream
{If you decide to use half-and-half, just pour 3/4 glass worth directly.}
1 shot glass (the normal kind of shots you get in a bar… not a home-pour shot size mmmkay?) of Vanilla Syrup (I use MONIN)
1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
1-2 shots of bourbon (hey… it’s your poison)
Sprinkling of ground nutmeg to taste

DIRECTIONS:
Combine all ingredients in glass over ice. Stir. Sip. TADAAAAH!

And there you have it, the magic of egg nog without the risk of salmonella. Tastes good immediately. Yummylicious Christmases indeed. And best of all? No clean up required.

Now I’m off to enjoy early sunsets in golden light whilst sipping my Cheater’s Egg Nog, wrapped in my new sweater and favourite scarf.

Happy Mo’vember guys!

Leave a Reply

