What 20-Something Alcoholism Is Really Like

Thought Catalog

Want more unedited insider info, secrets, and confessions? Like Thought Catalog Anonymous on Facebook here.

In the past three and a half years, I have not been sober for more than 24 hours.

Contrary to what you might assume, I rarely get hungover. I’m not unproductive or lazy – in fact, my job is the envy of most of my friends. I’m not broke, and I have a very happy-go-lucky personality, even when I am sober.

I date – although I’ll admit I haven’t had a steady girlfriend in years – and I have friends. Nobody I work with or interact with knows that I’m an alcoholic, and even my former therapist told me that my ability to live a normal life while under the influence is “impressive.” I don’t drive drunk, and I rarely miss my alarm clock in the morning. In short, I’m no different from anyone…

View original post 1,600 more words

Leave a Reply

