forgive me Father, for i am sin.

praying is my defence mechanism

i am inked in sinner’s choice
black in my lungs
in poet’s sentences

i drink my coffee dark because i feel
like my soul is devoid
quotations lined in skin

my body is perfumed by lust.
i will sigh out the words in perfunctory excitement,
indignation pulsing under my whims

with the earth shattering knowledge that lies are scary
because if you tell them 
often enough

you’ll start to believe them yourself.
and i tell myself i’m happy, good little christian girl
but praying is my defence mechanism

and i am nothing more than an ordinary fool.

Leave a Reply

