you rock the magic planes with no abbreviation

voice of a stranger,
words of a friend.
he spins me into oppositions
pulling me in twisted directions
until the lull of perfection dims
and i am a frayed note
lingering in the wind,
body a melting pool of insolence
he tames my harsh
and gives me words.

my nicotine.

i thought i traded up 
for the sunny lines of
abbreviated thoughts,
that the boredom of youth
would fade as time etched
figures into my skin
but i have starts
and no finishes.
the only ending’s;
my own undoing. 

my thoughts are a whirlwind.

i would ask stranger for new words
but i’m afraid of taking anymore.
he’s starting to lose his pretty charms
and the chasm opening from
not seeing him write
is more painful than
my barren mind. 
so i will go 
to a new land
in search of new friends,
create new adventures
with a broken shell of myself.

we will call this artistic frenzy
even as his voice dulls
and his words grow cold.

tonight my head is
empty of 
epiphanies

2 thoughts on “you rock the magic planes with no abbreviation

Leave a Reply

